Songs to put you in a project management state of mind

As a teenager who had an eclectic taste in music, one of my hobbies was attempting to create the perfect mix tape to fit the theme of different activities I would do such as studying, working out or just relaxing.

So how about project management? To quote Barney Stinson: “Challenge accepted!”

  1. Can I Play With Madness (Iron Maiden): You know those projects where it seems no one has a clue about what we are trying to achieve? “Can I play with madness? The prophet stared at his crystal ball ; Can I play with madness? There’s no vision there at all
  2. You Can’t Always Get What You Want (Rolling Stones): There is no better song to help set stakeholder expectations about focusing on their needs.
  3. The Gambler (Kenny Rogers): This would make a good level setting tune for a risk response workshop, especially for those who feel the glass is always half full. “You’ve got to know when to hold ’em ; Know when to fold ’em ; Know when to walk away ; And know when to run
  4. That’s Life (Frank Sinatra): After the team has just received some bad news or is recovering after a painful issue, this song helps to put things into perspective. “Each time I find myself flat on my face ; I pick myself up and get back in the race
  5. Nothing Else Matters (Metallica): This is a good song for building self-reliance, self-organization and the willingness to inspect and adapt in teams. “Trust I seek and I find in you, Every day for us something new, Open mind for a different view
  6. In The End (Linkin Park): “Time is a valuable thing ; Watch it fly by as the pendulum swings ; Watch it count down to the end of the day ; The clock ticks life away“. ‘Nuff said!
  7. People Are People (Depeche Mode): When the team is storming and what makes us different is dividing us. “So we’re different colours ; And we’re different creeds ; And different people have different needs
  8. Three Little Birds (Bob Marley): What could be a more cheerful and uplifting song to kick off a daily standup for your team? “Don’t worry about a thing, ’cause every little thing gonna be all right.
  9. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (The Animals): Whenever you feel there has been a breakdown in the basic communication model, just sing “I’m just a soul whose intentions are good ; Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood
  10. We Are The Champions (Queen): A gracious project manager will always acknowledge the contribution of the entire team. “I’ve taken my bows ; And my curtain calls ; You brought me fame and fortune and everything that goes with it ; I thank you all

So what would you add for YOUR project management mix tape?

 

Categories: Project Management | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Songs to put you in a project management state of mind

  1. “Dreams,” by the Allman Brothers Band. “Pull myself together, put on a new face. Climb down off the hilltop, baby, and get back in the race, ’cause I hunger for dreams I’ll never see.”

    Every project is a leap of faith, at some level. Like Johnny “Appleseed” Chapman, we spend our days planting trees we’ll never sit under, which will produce fruit for people we’ll never meet. The vision is all we need to make us take up the quest.

    Like

  2. Pingback: New PM Articles for the Week of February 18 – 24 | The Practicing IT Project Manager

  3. Another Animals song can come to mind when things go wrong: “We’ve gotta get out of this place’

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.